Oakfield Parkonians Cricket Club 5th XI v Ilford on Sat 10 Jul 2021 at 12.30
Oakfield Parkonians Cricket Club Won by 142 runs

Match report Game Ten of season was played against Ilford 5XI at Hainault Recreation Ground. Ilford 5’s fielding a side with 10 courageous and determined colts, faced an organised and enthusiastic Parks team.

After Parks lost the toss because of Nimanka, Ilford chose to field first on a grey, rain filled afternoon. Batting at the Recreation Ground is fraught with difficulty; the pitch is an unpredictable surface with inconsistent bounce and a slow outfield that makes scoring a challenge. 150 runs is a highly competitive total, 125 defendable and 100 about par. Parks however did their acting skipper, Mr Fing, very proud. Despite the loss of two early wickets, (Nikhil for 3 and Amanjit for 7) leaving the team on 18-2 after 6 overs, Sachin and Amar ‘the Wall’ Desai steadied the ship with a 72-run partnership for the 3rd wicket. 90-3 by the 22nd over created a platform for the rest of the batting order. Sadly, the team lost Amar, Nimanka and Vijay in quick succession leaving the score on 107-6. No bother: Samuel (an attacking 32*) and Thomas (a determined 17 in his first game for 18 months) had a 30-run stand. Anuj (30*) joined Samuel for 65 run partnership which allowed Mr Fing to declare the innings on 201 for 7 after 42 overs.

Fielding in much drier conditions, Aryan and Syed once again bowled tight line and lengths opening the bowling. After 14 overs Ilford found themselves 27-3. One of the three dismissals saw a superb diving catch by Nimanka at ridiculously close mid-on to dismiss the Ilford Captain Tushar for 4. Anuj and Thomas took over the mantle from the 15th over bowling with discipline and taking regular wickets to leave Ilford on 37-5 at drinks. Now in their ascendency, Parks fielded like a test match XI with 4 slips, a gully, silly(ish) point, and close fielders at cover, mid-on/off and mid-wicket. Attacking fielding by the boys supported Nikhil, bowling spin, and Vijay to pressurise the remaining Ilford batting order. Neither bowler allowed any room for the batsmen to play scoring shots. 3 wickets for Vijay and 2 for Nikhil, including the prized scalp of Abaan for 24 left Ilford 59 all out within 29 overs, and Parks with a 141 run victory.

Although the victory was much greater than Parks expected, we have to recognise Ilford were a team of developing colts who bowled quickly, showed courage, and fought hard. Ilford also had an outstanding talent in Aahaan (8*). A determined, classical, 13 year old, batting light years ahead of his age. In the interests of his development and in the spirit of the game, Parks extended an invitation for him to seek coaching from our own Ravi Teja. I suspect our 1st XI will no doubt find themselves bowling against this kid in the not too distant future. You heard it here first.

Nonetheless, Parks once again showed that endless talent runs through its maroon and silver veins. I am confident this team will stand up to even greater scrutiny in the coming games as we enter the business end of the league.

Oakfield Parkonians Cricket Club 5th XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
11nb 26w 10b  
for 7 wickets

(42.0 overs)
Amanjit Singh b b Ashwin Agash 7 1
Nikhil Mukherjee b b Ashwin Agash 3
Sachin Fing ct ct Vivek Boya b Abaan Imran 30 3
Amar Desai ct ct Vivek Boya b Tushar Tahsin 30 1
Nimanka De Silva b b Abaan Imran 5 2
Vijay Vijayanathan b b Tushar Tahsin 0
Samuel Varnes Not Out  32 4 1
Thomas Varnes b b Ashwin Agash 17 3
Anuj Tewari Not Out  30 2 1 1
Syed Muttaqueen   1
Aryan Desai  

Ilford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Harris Mirza7.003400.004.86
Ashwin Agash9.0054318.006.00
Faris Khan5.001000.002.00
Ronit Patel4.002000.005.00
Abaan Imran6.0025212.504.17
Tushar Tahsin9.0032216.003.56
Aahaan Srivastav2.001600.008.00

Ilford Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
3nb 4w 5b 2lb 
for 10 wickets
59 (31.4 overs)
Tushar Tahsin* ct ct Nimanka De Silva b Syed Imanul Muttaqeen 4
Vivek Boya b b Syed Imanul Muttaqeen 0
Abaan Imran ct ct Anuj Tewari b Nikhil Roy-Mukherjee 24
Ishan Mayor† ct ct Syed Imanul Muttaqeen b Aryan Desai 0
Salman Ul Haq ct ct Samuel Varnes b Anuj Tewari 0
Zaland Shah ct ct Nimanka De Silva b Anuj Tewari 0
Aahaan Srivastav Not Out  8
Faris Khan ct ct & b Vijay Vijayanathan 6
Harris Mirza b b Vijay Vijayanathan 1
Ronit Patel b b Vijay Vijayanathan 0
Ashwin Agash b b Nikhil Roy-Mukherjee 2

Oakfield Parkonians Cricket Club 5th XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Aryan Desai7.02717.001.00
Syed Muttaqueen7.021527.502.14
Thomas Varnes4.02600.001.50
Anuj Tewari4.01623.001.50
Vijay Vijayanathan5.01933.001.80
Nikhil Mukherjee4.41924.501.93